A Mudgee country retreat where relaxation, history and a touch of adventure meet.
Address: 499 Lue Road, Mudgee NSW 2850
Phone: 0458 947 656

Reviews

When you stay at Tom’s Cottage you can expect total privacy on a beautiful farm just out of Mudgee town. The cottage is very clean and cosy with all the modern amenities you would expect. Rick and Steph are wonderful hosts who left personal touches such as lots of local things to do and see and taking us up for a trip to the top of their hill for the most stunning sunset. Just perfect for a couple wanting time alone or celebrating a special occasion.

-Brooke, Sydney – April 2019

Definitely deserving of a five star rating, Tom’s Cottage truly is an amazing place to go. My friend and I were in Mudgee for a weekend away from the city, and we could not have picked a better place to go. The location of the property was great, close to town and with plenty of surrounding wineries, but also with a very private feel to it. If you’re after some much needed peace and quiet, this is a place where you can enjoy just that – and with an amazing view too! The hosts Rick and Steph were lovely, and they go above and beyond – even adding a bunch of very thoughtful surprises for us to enjoy throughout our stay. (Including some absolutely delicious homemade biscotti!) My friend Katie and I loved every minute of our time at Tom’s Cottage.

-Tania, Pemulwuy – February 2019

Beautiful Cottage, amazing views with wonderful hospitality. Our experience was amazing at Tom’s Cottage. Couldn’t fault it at all. We will be back in the future. I highly recommend staying for a couple of nights. Beautiful sunsets and amazing location just outside Mudgee.

– Phoebe and Sam, December 2018

Tom’s cottage is the perfect place to relax and explore Mudgee. What a beautiful place to stay. We will be back for sure!

– Birgit, November 2018

Tom’s Cottage is just about the best combo of factors you could ask for – beautifully appointed, self contained, far enough from town to be quiet but close enough that it’s a short ride (and shorter drive!). Rick and Steph are absolutely lovely. We had a fantastic time and will be back!!

– Laura, October 2018

We felt relaxed the moment we turned into the driveway, but that was just the beginning. Rick and Steph greeted us upon our arrival and happily gave recommendations of eating out, wineries etc. They were friendly and welcoming, as was Birch!! We instantly had a great feeling about home for the next few days! The cottage itself looks perfect in the pictures, in reality it’s that and more.
The attention to detail is beyond impressive, nothing has been forgotten or missed. The location is perfect, the decking was the perfect spot to enjoy a cheese and wine platter as the sun set! So good we did the same the following evening, this time from the hill to which Rick and Steph (plus Birch!) has driven us to.
The farm fresh eggs and complimentary goodies were all a massive bonus. We escaped Sydney for a relaxing few days and it was all that and more. Rick and Steph thank you so much for been great hosts- we will definitely see you again!

– Frank and Anna, September 2018

5 STAR!! Tom’s cottage is impeccably renovated, sparkling clean and 100% private! We absolutely loved our stay here and only 48 hours since leaving have recommended it to all our friends. Steph and Rick have gone over-and-above with the little touches like a basket of homemade goodies upon arrival and fresh eggs from the happy farm hens on our departure! If you love gardening, Steph’s garden is absolutely beautiful and farm grounds are perfect for a morning/sunset walk. We loved it, and I can guarantee no one will ever find a reason not to give it 5!

– Anna and Nick, September 2018

Excellent location, perfect for a couple wanting to explore the wineries and food on offer locally. Some very thoughtful touches especially the welcome basket, and the cabin is spotlessly clean. Lovely peaceful view off the veranda, and a great place to relax.

– Ashley, August 2018

Rick and Steph’s place far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is simply beautiful. It was so hard to leave! We also had a fantastic morning exploring the farm on the 4×4. Steph and Rick’s hospitality is incredibly warm and generous. I can’t wait to come back.

– Gemma, July 2018

Tom’s cottage was honestly the best air bnb we have ever stayed in. Steph and Rick certainly are 5 star hosts giving you privacy if you like but are also friendly and kind enough to show you around the farm. The cottage itself is beautifully styled with quality linen, kitchen essentials and a lovely welcome gift that was heart felt. Birch the dog was even welcoming. We will definitely be back and we would recommend this stay to EVERYONE!

– Tim, June 2018

Absolutely loved it. Great hospitality, tastefully decorated. Great balcony which we enjoyed having breakfast on in the mornings and star gazing at night! The bikes were excellent and really enjoyed using them. Thoughtful treats awaited us on a warm arrival. Wonderful stay. Can’t rave enough

– Jenny, June 2018

Wowww, Tom’s Cottage is beyond wonderful and we are grateful for the experience. We regret not staying longer! The peacefulness feel blended with its unique decor is impressive. Thank you to Steph, Rick (and Birch!) for your warm hospitality. We loved the treats basket and hen surprise on our car.. we drove away with smiles beaming!! This stay has ‘up’d the game’ in the air b&b realm .. Well done!

– Karen, May 2018

Thank you Rick and Steph for a wonderful experience and amazing accommodation.The extra touches provided to make our stay that much more were there including the enjoyable near dusk.

– Michael, May 2018

Beautiful property that is very well looked after. We loved relaxing on the deck while watching the sunset, then sitting around the fire pit at night. Quick drive into town and the wineries. Steph and Rick were very friendly and were willing to help with anything. We would definitely come back!

-Miori and Dan Apr 2019

Great place to stay if you want peace and quiet with spectacular views. Thoroughly enjoyed our time in this delightful cottage. The kitchen was well equipped, with a very comfortable bed. The décor has that country look with a personal touch. The welcoming basket was lovely! Especially the home made biscotti to enjoy with a cuppa. Steph and Rick were wonderful hosts who allowed us the opportunity to experience this location with its amazing array of birdlife.

-Michael and Narelle April 2019

A beautifully appointed modern space, with many thoughtful touches and carefully considered comforts. Spotlessly clean, with sensitive and kind hosts who delighted us with their complimentary gifts. We’d happily return.

-Andrew – March 2019

Tom’s cottage is a perfect location, a charming, modern cottage set inside a picturesque landscape that allows you to escape the hustle and stress of everyday living and bask in the tranquillity of Mudgee. The little touches Steph and Rick take their time to set, are remarkable, thoughtful and feel your heart with a touch of warmth. The decor is lovely and the cottage is spotless clean (and I am a clean freak so that says a lot!). Definitely the place to stay when travelling to Mudgee!

– Ilona January- 2019

Rick and Steph, We have travelled to over 30 countries where we have stayed in many Airbnb’s and this stay was just fabulous. The cottage was absolutely wonderful and the little touches such as the eggs and veges, the welcome basket and fresh flowers were divine. Thank you for taking the time to drive us to the sunset view, it was absolutely spectacular! You have a lovely property and we highly recommend anyone thinking of staying in Mudgee stays with you. Take care and thanks again, Caitlin and Ash.

– Caitlan and Ash, December 2018

Amazing cannot express how beautiful toms cottage is. It’s home away from home. Rick and Steph are amazing. The welcome basket was beautiful with arm touches that make your day. Cannot wait to come back to toms cottage. Kind regards Veronica

– Veronica, November 2018

Absolutely perfect in every way – the place, the views, the location, the little touches that Rick and Steph added to make our stay truly wonderful. We will most definitely be back and cannot recommend this beautiful place highly enough. Thank you Rick, Steph and Birch!

– Katrina and James, October 2018

We loved staying at Rick and Steph’s place! Tom’s Cottage is full of lovely little touches; we loved the welcome basket with wine, coffee and home made biscotti. It’s close enough to town that you can drive there in 5 minutes but you’ll feel like you’re in the middle of the countryside.
The views from the breakfast bar are beautiful, and we really enjoyed sitting around the fire pit with a glass of wine at the end of the day. We’ll definitely be coming back!!

– Andrea and Robin, September 2018

Amazing. No review could do justice to the experience that Steph and Rick have created with Tom’s Cottage. They have given thought to every little detail – The space is fantastic and Steph and Rick are the perfect hosts. We can’t wait to return, and couldn’t recommend Tom’s Cottage more!

– James, August 2018

A home away from home! Rick and Steph’s cottage was a perfect little getaway for us to unwind and relax. It is the small touches that make this place truly special – the welcome basket, fresh native flowers and handpicked oranges. A short drive to the town centre (if you ever want to leave the property) and the amenities are fantastic if you wish to stay in and cook. If you have a chance to do the farm tour, make sure you do! We went up to watch the sunset and it was unforgettable. We will definitely be back!

– Tom, July 2018

Tom’s cottage was a beautiful place to stay whilst visiting the Mudgee area. Rick and Steph were extremely thoughtful hosts, providing delicious teas coffee and homemade biscotti for us when we arrived. The cottage was clean and had everything you could need, including excellent heating visiting in the cool months and an excellent view over the property. Would definitely recommend and hope to stay again in the future.

– Emily, July 2018

Absolutely perfect first stay in Mudgee and one of the best Airbnb experiences we have ever had. Rick and Steph are amazing hosts and we are so glad to have met them. We arrived to complimentary wine and delicious home made cookies, which were a great touch. The cottage itself is very private and cosy, with beautiful farm views and the tour of the farm definitely made the trip extra special. Loved everything about it and will definitely be back.

– Natalie, June 2018

I can not recommend this place highly enough, it is easily the best Airbnb I have ever stayed in – it is on par with a hotel. The cottage is beautiful, Rick and Steph were lovely and all of the thoughtful touches really set this place apart. (They also have a really cute dog!) Mudgee is a wonderful place to visit and Tom’s Cottage was the perfect place to stay.

– Georgie, May 2018

We stayed at Tom’s Cottage to celebrate our anniversary and have a trip before baby arrives and were blown away by the cottage, surrounding area and hospitality of our hosts. Perfectly situated just outside Mudgee, Tom’s Cottage sits on stunning farm land that provides the most peaceful and relaxing setting for your getaway. The modern and stylish cottage has everything you need and the hosts provide a beautiful welcome basket – just one of the many personal touches which were so appreciated by us and made our stay extra special. We left after three nights feeling thoroughly relaxed and would recommend Tom’s Cottage to anyone who wants a country escape to remember. Thank you Rick and Steph!

-Abbie, Charlestown -April 2019

Rick’s and Steph’s place is absolutely gorgeous, sparkly clean, serene and cosy, with a number of little personal touches (e.g. complimentary basket of goodies including wine, coffee and biscotti). Tom’s Cottage with its modern appliances and a modern kitchen gave us the creature comforts of contemporary living while still having the old-world charm of a cottage on a lovely stretch of farmland. 5/5 would visit again!!

-Avanti, West Ryde – March 2019

Rick and Steph are amazing hosts. Tom’s cottage is lovely, spotlessly clean and quiet place. We absolutely loved our 3 nights stay. I loved your verandah facing the hill, amazing spot for stargazing. Your little dog Birch is such a cutie. Thank you for having us and thank you so much for eggs, pumpkin and zucchini you left for us before we left!!! We will definitely be back! Veronika

-Veronica Feb 2019

We couldn’t recommend Toms Cottage enough! We’ve stayed in a lot of amazing places and Airbnb’s before but there’s something special about this place that truely made us feel so relaxed the entire stay. Rick and Steph were absolutely amazing and the touches inside of the cottage made us feel right at home. We look forward to returning!

-Christina, New South Wales -January 2019

Tom’s Cottage is a must visit for your next trip to Mudgee. Wonderful Warm hearted hospitality from Rick and Steph (and Birch!), absolutely stunning views in a secluded country setting with beautiful farm animals roaming around and only a few minutes drive from town and wineries – it’s a perfect spot with a home away from home feel. We were lucky to be able to use the farm buggie to picnic at the most wonderful location, watching the sunset and Mudgee light up from our comfy deck chairs while sipping on a wonderful Mudgee Red- this was definitely a highlight of our visit. Two days since check out and we are still enjoying the delicious home made biscotti and plan on having the Wilgowrah eggs for breakfast every day. Thank you for having us and we look forward to visiting again!

– Dean, November 2018

Incredible! I can’t imagine there is anywhere better to stay in Mudgee than Toms cottage. Rick and Steph are great hosts who have made sure every detail is perfect and add special touches throughout the stay.

– Rachel, October 2018

Thanks Rick and Steph. Toms Cottage was awesome. Exactly what we wanted. A beautiful cottage on a wonderful farm setting. Very quiet but close to all the wineries and Mudgee town centre. You provided a five star experience. Thank you.

– Jacquie and Jason, October 2018

Thank you to Rick & Steph for the most amazing stay at Tom’s Cottage. We loved the accommodation and the property was absolutely beautiful. Rick & Steph were the most amazing hosts and even showed us around the property to watch the sunset over Mudgee. Would highly recommend Tom’s Cottage to everyone.

– Annie and Sam, September 2018

Thank you Rick & Steph for your outstanding hospitality. Shane and I had the most wonderful stay in your delightful cottage. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed with so much warmth and some lovely gifts, local coffee & wine and some homemade biscotti – which was delicious! We were able to take the buggy up the hill to watch the sunset over Mudgee which was just spectacular. The cottage was so stylish, immaculate and cosy and we had everything we would ever need and more. We truly didn’t want to leave! We also loved little Birchy, she was so cute and came for a ride on the buggy with us. Location wise, we were about an 8 minute drive into town and so close to many wineries! We also did a half day wine tour on the Sunday afternoon which was just perfect. Thank you again! I can’t recommend your accommodation more. We can’t wait to come back and are already talking about it… Brie + Shane

– Brie, August 2018

Could not recommend this space more. FANTASTIC value – worth every penny and then some. Incredible space, clean, excellent hosts (we used all of their tips from where to eat, what wineries to check out, and where to get our caffeine fix). To top it all off the property has such a beautiful history and the cows are cute. We had never been to Mudgee and now I cannot wait to go back.

– Hallie, June 2018

Cannot recommend Tom’s Cottage highly enough. We had such a great stay – Rick, Steph and Birch really made us feel welcome and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The cottage is just as pictured – with a very well equipped kitchen to cook your own dinners and breakfasts. We loved the fire – inside and out and were very warm over a few chilly nights. The sunset over the farm was just gorgeous and a lovely touch. Thanks again! We’ll definitely be back.

– Carla, May 2018

Brilliant – a gorgeous, totally stylish & private cottage with a tranquil country outlook. Minutes to Mudgee town centre, wineries & other local attractions. Rick & Steph have thought of everything so just arrive & relax; loved the special touches & guest treats – very thoughtful.

– Christine, May 2018